Board Bios | Contact a Board Member

2017 Ad Hoc Committee Member and Liaison Appointees


CCSD Municipal Code | 2018 Board Bylaws  | Board Goals

Buildout Reduction Committee BRPCC

Parks/Recreation/Open Space PROS


The Cambria Community Services District (CCSD) is governed by a five-member Board of Directors, elected at-large for four-year overlapping terms. The CCSD Board elects a President to preside over the meetings, and a Vice President, who serves in the President’s absence. The role of President rotates with annual nominations held at the regular December Board meeting.


The CCSD was formed in 1976. Elections occur in even years with three (3) terms expiring in 2020 and two (2) terms expiring in 2018 (overlapping terms). Successful candidates assume office the first Friday in December following the November election.  CCSD elections are consolidated with San Luis Obispo County and General Elections are typically held the first Tuesday in November. The County Clerk Recorder handles all candidate filings.



Reelected CCSD Board member Jim Bahringer received the Oath of Office in December 2014 and will complete his term in December 2018.


Reelected CCSD Board member Amanda Rice received the Oath of Office in December 2016 and will complete her term in December, 2020.


Harry Farmer was elected to office in the November 8, 2016 General Election with his term expiring December, 2020.


On October 3, 2017, Aaron Wharton was appointed to the Cambria Community Services District Board of Directors.


On December 19, 2017, David Pierson was appointed to the Cambria Community Services District Board of Directors.


On January 18, 2018 Amanda Rice was nominated and voted President and Jim Bahringer was nominated and voted Vice President for the 2018 year.


Board of Directors Bios

 Amanda Rice  | Jim Bahringer | Harry Farmer

Aaron Wharton | David Pierson


President Amanda Rice

Amanda Rice was reelected to the CCSD Board of Directors in the November 8, 2016 General Election. Her term expires in December 2020. She has been a member of the Cambria Forest Committee, Chair of North Coast Advisory Council for two of the four years she was on the Council, and has worked with the Community Center of Cambria (the Youth Center), HART, Cambria Anonymous Neighbors, and the J & J Heller Dog Park. She earned a B.A. in English from CSU Chico and a teaching certificate from Tulane University, then taught high school English in New Orleans for five years, where she developed a grant-funded American Studies Program and served as department chair for two years. She currently provides web development, computer, and administrative support to local businesses.


Vice President Jim Bahringer

Jim Bahringer was elected to the CCSD Board of Directors in November 2010 and re-elected in November 2014. His professional background includes businessman and college professor. He holds a B.S. US Naval Academy, Annapolis, MD; M.B.A. candidate San Jose State. He is a member of NCAC, Cambria Lions Club, and American Legion.


Director Harry Farmer

Harry Farmer was elected to the CCSD Board of Directors in November, 2016.  His term expires in December, 2020.  A graduate of California State University Northridge in 1969, his varied work background includes employment in social services and the mental health field, as well as a disc jockey and radio interview host, gardener, and counseling astrologer.  He moved to Cambria in November, 1986.  During the 1990’s he was an active 8 year member of Friends of the Ranchland, the non profit volunteer organization that prevented development of, and ultimately helped in the purchase, of the 440 acre Fiscalini Ranch Preserve.  He also initiated, and was passionately involved, in the saving of the popular local hiking area known as Strawberry Canyon.  Since Fall 2009, he has been a volunteer gardener at the Cambria Historical Museum.  He also cares for the planter boxes above the attractive wooden trash/recycling containers that dot our town’s business district.


Director Aaron Wharton

Biography to come.


Director David Pierson

Biography to come.


 2017 Ad Hoc Committees and Members


Finance Ad Hoc Committee: President Rice and Vice President Sanders

Task: evaluate budget for Fiscal Year 2017-2018, assess fiscal policies and priorities.


Fire Department Ad Hoc Committee: Vice-President Sanders and VACANT Task: Fire Department.


Infrastructure Ad Hoc Committee: Director Bahringer and Director Farmer

Task: Water Department, Wastewater Department and technology infrastructure (hardware and software) in all departments.


Parks, Recreation and Open Space (PROs) Ad Hoc Committee:  Director Bahringer and Director Wharton

Task: Parks & Recreation and Facilities Departments (including Veterans Memorial Hall).


Water Supply (formerly Sustainable Water Facility Water Permitting & EIR Ad Hoc Committee): President Rice and Vice-President Sanders


  • Support staff’s work on water supply permitting for the Sustainable Water Facility regular Coastal Development Permit and Environmental Impact Report.
  • Review 2015 UWMP and progress on water efficiency program goals.
  • Report to Board and suggest needed policy reviews for consistency.


Information Technology Ad Hoc Committee: President Rice and Director Bahringer

Task: The Technology Ad-Hoc Committee is responsible for pending technology infrastructure issues (hardware and software) in all departments.


Fill Board Vacancy Ad Hoc Committee: Director Farmer and Director Wharton

Task: to develop the procedure to fill the vacancy on the CCSD Board of Directors created by the resignation of Greg Sanders.


Liaison Appointments:

  • North Coast Advisory Council – Director Bahringer
  • Coast Union School District – President Rice
  • Cambria Healthcare District – Vice President Sanders
  • Cambria Forest Committee – Director Farmer
  • Cambria Tourism Board – Director Bahringer
  • Cambria Fire Safe Focus Group – Director Wharton
  • Friends of Fiscalini Ranch Preserve – Director Farmer
  • San Simeon CSD – VACANT
  • Regulatory and other local, state, or federal agencies – President Rice